I am alive: Sunday morning in the valley

Today the self disappeared . . .

Walking in the wetland on top of the frozen snow crust
no skis or snowshoes needed
as the sun shone upon me
in the early morning stillness
before the sun had time to warm the earth.

Watching the spring freshet overflowing the creek
when
all at once
it was gone:
the persona,
the story that had mistaken for who I am . . .

And then there was only the awareness of being
and the stream flowing
and the brids singing
as the sun shone
and the dog sniffed and searched
and did what dogs do
racing here and there with great excitement
– the smells of spring
of new life
of new beginnings . . .

I was not expecting to lose the self
thinking rather to find pleasure in the beauty of nature
outside my door in the paradise of this valley where we live
thinking of the excitement of living
of being alive
of the rest of my life
starting with this moment
living my passions
shedding my past
the burden I carried for so long. . .

seeing my hand, this pen with which I write
hearing the rain falling on the tin roof

I say yes to life
Yes to all that is
Yes to me, to you
Yes to everyone and everything that is, was and will be
finding Now
and all that is within it.

Blessings be upon you

Amen

                                           Sunday April 14, 2019 7 pm Wakefield

About gordonapril132013

The first poem in this blog of teachings from within, the Angel and the Lover, was written during a workshop taught by a teacher of meditation. Later influences included ThetaHealing, then teachings of Lester Levenson, Adya Shanti, Eckhart Tolle and J. Krisnamurti, along with inner reflections and integral coaching. On this blog, there are links to audio recordings of teachings from within. May you be blessed on your journey. I welcome any comments you have, and feel free to send me your contact info if you wish to contact me. Peace to you and to the world.

Leave a comment